What’s in a name?

image

So, Vader is officially going through a name change.  We’ve decided that Thor will fit him rather appropriately, thanks to his gigantic paws, which are the size of my palms.  He’s currently sleeping on his bed in the living room, dreaming he’s a sprint car, as Shawn says (in other words, this means he’s snoring…loudly).  Gee, you’d think he’s comfy or something!  🙂

Thor has handled being home alone while we’re at work like a champ.  He was happy but quiet when I came home around 2:30.

So I suppose I owe y’all a little bit about myself and (maybe) a little about Shawn.  For starters, I turn the big 3-0 this year, and it’s definitely a very scary thought.  People dismiss me and tell me that 30 isn’t so bad, that they will be some of the best years of my life (thanks for shattering the whole high school being the best four years of your life thing), and that I’ll survive because age is just a number…only it isn’t to me.

Anyway, I’m not from the Lone Star State but moved here because I had a fantastic career opportunity that turned into the best decision I’ve made in my life so far.  Once I had been here for a few weeks, I met Shawn, and we had started dating.  We’ve been together now for almost three and a half years.

I have to admit, he’s pretty cool.  For a guy.  He’s smart, ambitious, and he’s weird, which is a huge plus.  He’s not geeky in the same way that I am, but he has his moments.  He’s a little younger than I am, which sort of bothered me at first.  It took a little while to relax into the idea, but let’s face it.  No one cares too much about the difference once you’ve gotten your college degree out of the way.  He races cars on the side, which is pretty awesome most days.

So anyway we’re both engineers, and people actually think we’re interesting.  Personally, most of the time I think we’re boring.  But maybe that’s me, who knows!

I’m not really much for talking about myself, so that’s all you’ll get for now.  I’m pretty tired.  (No, I don’t really care that it’s not even 10:30.)

Leave a Reply

